The IRCC (International RCM Certification Committee) is an independent non-profit organisation of RCM examiners (RCM Level 4) which certifies students to RCM Level 1-2-3 according to the International RCM standards SAE JA1011 and SAE JA1012.


Reliability-Centered Maintenance (RCM) was initially developed by the commercial aviation industry to improve the safety and reliability of their equipment. It was first documented in a report written by F.S. Nowlan and H.F. Heap and published by the U.S. Department of Defense in 1978. Since then, RCM has been used to help formulate physical asset management strategies in almost every area of organized human endeavour, and in almost every industrialized country in the world. The process defined by Nowlan and Heap served as the basis of various application documents in which the RCM process has been developed and refined over the ensuing years. Most of these documents retain the key elements of the original process. However the widespread use of the term “RCM” has led to the emergence of a number of processes that differ significantly from the original Process. As a result, there has been a growing international demand for a standard that sets out the criteria that any process must comply with in order to be called “RCM.”

The SAE JA1011 and SAE JA1012 standards meet that need. They are available on www.sae.org. Each has been revised over the years – SAE JA1011 was introduced in 1999 and revised in 2009; SAE JA1012 was introduced in 2002 and revised in 2011.

In 1991 John Moubray published his book RCM2 and with minor editorial changes this became the basis for both SAE standards. The IRCC examiners are all trained and certified by John Moubray.

RCM is a process to develop maintenance concepts for critical environments, assets, systems and processes.

These maintenance concepts must be nested to maintenance plans and update the maintenance program in a CMMS regularly. Due to continuous improvements and changing failure behaviour of processes, maintenance concepts must be maintained too. This continuous changing failure behaviour is described in FMEAs which have to be kept up-to-date. It is a living process. The quality of maintenance concepts / – plans / – programs can be measured with an important KPI:  MPE (Maintenance Program Effectiveness). Professional maintenance concepts / plans / programs cover the actual failure behaviour as described in the up-to-date FMEAs.

RCM Levels

RCM is a methodology that is used on critical assets, systems and processes. The methodology can only be executed by people who proved they are able to manage the RCM Process in the right way. IRCC standardised the competency levels for this reason.

IRCC members

IRCC certifies students for any organisation that uses RCM. New members are always welcome. Please contact one of our examiners for more information.

RCM Level 1:
RCM workgroup member.

  • is able to explain the RCM standaard (SAE  JA1011)
  • has a global understanding of the RCM terminology
  • has a global understanding what is needed to execute a RCM study
  • is able to work in a RCM workgroup
  • this level is achieved in 3 days Level 1 trainings with an online examination.

RCM Level 2:
RCM Facilitator /  RCM Master.
This level is able to manage multiple RCM workgroups and is responsible for the quality of the RCM project deliverables.

  • has a detailed understanding of the RCM standard SAE JA1011 and SAE JA 1012
  • is able to manage multiple RCM workgroups
  • is able to explain all RCM terminology with the interactions between them
  • is able to use and explain how RCM based methodologies for low critical systems have to be executed
  • has a thorough understanding of all risk, task calculations
  • is able to control and manage the quality of a RCM study level
  • RCM Level 2 is achieved in a Level 2 training in two phases:
    • phase 1: 10 day theoretical RCM training with online theoretical examination.
    • phase 2: deliver at least one RCM study + present the results for a 2 person IRCC examination committee.

RCM Level 3:
RCM tutor for Level 1 and Level 2 trainings.
Coach for Level 2 during RCM implementation.

  • has at least 2 years experience as a RCM Facilitator / RCM Master.
  • has effectively coached at least 2 Level 2 students during a RCM implementation.
  • is able to develop RCM training for RCM Level 1 and Level 2 students.
  • this level is achieved after a 3 week RCM Level 3 training. The delegate has to organise a Level 1 and a Level 2 training where the IRCC examiners have access to.

RCM Level 4:
Member of the International RCM examination committee (IRCC).

  • The IRCC examiners are able to introduce any RCM Level 3 (tutor) to become a RCM examiner (RCM Level 4).

Our RCM examiners are:


Rik Plattel
European Reliability Centre

United Kingdom:

Chris James
Reliability Management

Graham Steven
Steven Consultants

Mark Horton

United States of America

Nancy Regan


Jesus Sifonte